AFC Champions League predictions - FOX SPORTS

International Club AFC Champions League Knockout Stage

Japanese Soccer League / March 5, 2023

Asian Champions League

Asian Champions League

The AFC Champions League is Asia's premier international club competition.

The Asian Champions League in its present format began in the 2002-2003 season and tends to be dominated by the big clubs from South Korea, Japan and Saudi Arabia.


The initial group stage consists of 32 teams in eight groups from 10 Asian nations before a first knock out round of 16 teams played over one leg. The quarterfinals are played in a two leg home and away format. Groups A-D consist of west Asian and Middle Eastern teams with groups E-H made up of clubs from East Asia (mainly Japan, South Korea, China) and Australia.

The final is a two-leg match.

The winner of the AFC Champions League qualifies for the Club World Cup.

AFC Champions League 2015 Quarter Finals

Four former champions - Guangzhou Evergrande (2013), Jeonbuk Hyundai (2006), Gamba Osaka (2008) and Al Hilal (1991, 1999/2000) - are still in contention at the quarter final stage of the AFC Champions League.